Vogue 1282

Over the Christmas Break we went snow skiing out in Keystone, Colorado.  It was so fun, I truly didn’t want to come home.  Before we caught the return flight back, I stopped in at the wonderful Denver Fabrics.  My parents lived in Littleton many years ago, and every time I visited, we made sure to include a stop at that fabulous store.  At one point, I was bringing an extra suitcase just to bring home all the great stuff!  This was in the early 90’s, and the selection was tremendous!  I had heard that nowadays, the store is but a shadow of its former glory (I still scratch my head over the whole Denver Fabrics website that’s not associated with the brick-and-mortar store, but that’s business, I guess)  Well, I was very relieved to view for myself that the store is still wonderful…dangerously so.  I bought only a tiny piece of knit (for 5 bucks!) because we were already busting at the suitcase seams with our ski equipment.  I could have spent much more time and money, if only I had time and $$$.  There was a whole section of Linton Tweeds, and even a few rolls of Missoni knits!  There was the usual racks of beautiful silks,  as well as a wonderful selection of leather skins, and so forth.  The new (to me) thing was the bins of bargain flat cut fabrics: wools, silks, knits, you name it.  So, I bought a single pre-cut piece of blingy knit and that was all.  I would highly recommend the trip to the ‘burbs, if you’re in the Denver area, and shop my beloved Denver Fabrics.  I love the city, and I love that store!

I had been eye-balling this sequined tank top from Garnet Hill.  It’s such a great little top for some holiday bling.

228487381066904434_Zu9oyvM9_c

was $88, now $49

 

I was good, though, and didn’t buy it ($88 for a tank top????).  I used my newly purchased blingy knit from Denver Fabrics and made Vogue 1282 :

IMG_4787

 

IMG_4789

Love this pattern!!! It was easy to put together , one piece, with the seam in the back.  There’s a weight in the cowl to help with the drape.  I cut out my usual size 12, but made some alterations.   I took a 2 inch wedge from the back neck down to about the middle back.  I didn’t even hem the bottom.

IMG_4791

Also, I sewed 2 more inches up the center front.  It’s still really low!  Just sayin’.

IMG_4795

Alterations to make for the next top:  raise the bottom of the armhole a good  2 inches, add at least 2 inches to the center front seam, remove 3 inches across the center back neck.  The armhole facing also “wobbles” a bit.  I like finishing the armhole with a strip of facing, but next time, I’ll just cut the rectangular strip and stretch it more as I sew it down.  Even so, this top is great, just what I wanted.  I’m wearing it as is, to a company party this month.

  1. I made up this top in a sparkly jersey, and have yet to wear it, but I love the drape. It’s a great pattern!

  2. Just discovered your blog from Pattern Review! I love your version of this Vogue top! The fabric really makes it pop! I hope my results are as good as yours! Thanks for the review.

  3. Gorgeous top. It really is. I love the drape. It looks fabulous on you.

  1. February 25th, 2013
  2. June 29th, 2015
    Trackback from : Vogue 1282 | Mezzo Couture

Leave a comment

Lányos Handmade

The Shop, The Blog and More!

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

sewing my own clothes