Vogue 1282

Over the Christmas Break we went snow skiing out in Keystone, Colorado.  It was so fun, I truly didn’t want to come home.  Before we caught the return flight back, I stopped in at the wonderful Denver Fabrics.  My parents lived in Littleton many years ago, and every time I visited, we made sure to include a stop at that fabulous store.  At one point, I was bringing an extra suitcase just to bring home all the great stuff!  This was in the early 90’s, and the selection was tremendous!  I had heard that nowadays, the store is but a shadow of its former glory (I still scratch my head over the whole Denver Fabrics website that’s not associated with the brick-and-mortar store, but that’s business, I guess)  Well, I was very relieved to view for myself that the store is still wonderful…dangerously so.  I bought only a tiny piece of knit (for 5 bucks!) because we were already busting at the suitcase seams with our ski equipment.  I could have spent much more time and money, if only I had time and $$$.  There was a whole section of Linton Tweeds, and even a few rolls of Missoni knits!  There was the usual racks of beautiful silks,  as well as a wonderful selection of leather skins, and so forth.  The new (to me) thing was the bins of bargain flat cut fabrics: wools, silks, knits, you name it.  So, I bought a single pre-cut piece of blingy knit and that was all.  I would highly recommend the trip to the ‘burbs, if you’re in the Denver area, and shop my beloved Denver Fabrics.  I love the city, and I love that store!

I had been eye-balling this sequined tank top from Garnet Hill.  It’s such a great little top for some holiday bling.

228487381066904434_Zu9oyvM9_c

was $88, now $49

 

I was good, though, and didn’t buy it ($88 for a tank top????).  I used my newly purchased blingy knit from Denver Fabrics and made Vogue 1282 :

IMG_4787

 

IMG_4789

Love this pattern!!! It was easy to put together , one piece, with the seam in the back.  There’s a weight in the cowl to help with the drape.  I cut out my usual size 12, but made some alterations.   I took a 2 inch wedge from the back neck down to about the middle back.  I didn’t even hem the bottom.

IMG_4791

Also, I sewed 2 more inches up the center front.  It’s still really low!  Just sayin’.

IMG_4795

Alterations to make for the next top:  raise the bottom of the armhole a good  2 inches, add at least 2 inches to the center front seam, remove 3 inches across the center back neck.  The armhole facing also “wobbles” a bit.  I like finishing the armhole with a strip of facing, but next time, I’ll just cut the rectangular strip and stretch it more as I sew it down.  Even so, this top is great, just what I wanted.  I’m wearing it as is, to a company party this month.

  1. I made up this top in a sparkly jersey, and have yet to wear it, but I love the drape. It’s a great pattern!

  2. Just discovered your blog from Pattern Review! I love your version of this Vogue top! The fabric really makes it pop! I hope my results are as good as yours! Thanks for the review.

  3. Gorgeous top. It really is. I love the drape. It looks fabulous on you.

  1. February 25th, 2013
  2. June 29th, 2015
    Trackback from : Vogue 1282 | Mezzo Couture

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

