McCall’s 5330-Did I need another denim skirt?

No, I really don’t NEED another  (third) denim skirt in my wardrobe, but, since I have enough denim in my stash to clothe a small army, I made one anyway.  I had been really wanting this Current Elliot denim skirt, but at $130, no.

denim skirt

I pulled out some old denim jeans from my stash and made up McCall’s 5330

sewing 184

The front is is from two jeans pant legs that I opened.  The seams down the fronts are from the original jeans.

sewing 185

The back is from some yardage of denim that I had, and the belt band is from yet another pair of old jeans.  The front and back closely match, and since I don’t plan on wearing anything tucked in with this, it didn’t matter to me what the band looked like.  Yeah, I know, it’s not much like my inspiration piece.  I didn’t include pockets, it’s not stretch denim, and of course, my skirt doesn’t have the cool fading patterns on the front.  Oh well.  I did finally find a use for these cool buffalo nickel buttons I’ve had in my stash for ever:

sewing 186

I remember paying a small fortune for them over 15 years ago at D’leas in Denver.  And no, they’re not real nickels, just reproductions. 

The pattern is super easy to put together:  sew the darts, sew the fronts to back, add the waist band, and done!  The interest is in all the details:  topstitching, button holes, and belt carriers (which I didn’t add)..  This is a pencil skirt, a great addition to your wardrobe in any fabric!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

Lányos Handmade

The Shop, The Blog and More!

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

sewing my own clothes