Simplicity 4388

After working long and hard on one project (trench coat), it’s so nice to be able to get to one that’s easy, quick, and requires no fitting or detailed finishing.  These bathrobes are more Christmas gifts for DD:
bathrobes 
 
and for her Gotz Doll:
 
sewing 002
 
Pattern Description:
sleepwear wardrobe, including nightgown, pj’s, bathrobes, nightshirt, shorts, pants. I made the bathrobe.
Pattern Sizing:
7-14, I made size 10 for DD
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
very easy
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
After working on a hard project, sleepwear like this is very relaxing for me. I used fleece from my stash, so I didn’t finish any seams, it’s a bathrobe, so no special fitting steps were required. I made both the girl’s and the doll’s bathrobes in a day.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
The only moderately difficult thing I did was to sew linings to the pockets. This is far easier to to do than trying to turn down and topstitch seam allowances on bulky fleece. I just sewed the pockets to some green coordinating cotton, right sides together; I turned them right sides out, and voila, finished pocket shape that is then stitched to the bathrobe.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yep, this is a very versatile pattern. You could just throw it together, like I did, with no seam finishing, etc., or you could really do fun details, such as collar piping, embroidery on the pockets, blanket stitch on the edge, make it reversible, whatever.
Conclusion I had enough fleece left over to make a bathrobe for DD’s Gotz Doll. This was made from Joan Hind’s book called "Sew the Contemporary Wardrobe for the Eighteen Inch Doll" . As you can probably tell, that one went together in about 30 minutes, with very little finishing whatsoever, not even hems! Don’t you love fleece?

 
    • margaret
    • May 13th, 2008

    Where is the black and white dress? I’m waiting to see it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

Lányos Handmade

The Shop, The Blog and More!

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

sewing my own clothes