Vogue 8379

Finished this dress today:
Vogue8379 005
I love this wrap dress, Vogue 8379.  It pretty much fit right out of the package.  I did do a few things differently from the pattern instructions, though:
Reinforced shoulder seams with clear elastic.
Eliminated facings and used fold-over elastic to finish the front opening and neck/collar.  I had never used fold-over elasitic before, but I had picked some up at the Vogue Fabrics table at this year’s Expo.  It turned out okay, I’m not sure this is the best way to finish this neckline, but it’s another step in the search for the perfect finish for knits.
Vogue8379 002
neck finish view
Vogue8379 004
Another shot
Vogue8379 003
Added fusible knit interfacing to cuffs.
Used a 1 inch hem (instructions call for 1 1/4").
Set the sleeves in flat.  Lots of easing was needed.  I might decrease that sleeve ease next time I make this.
And finally, I used a 1/2" seam allowance on the sleeves to accomodate my bulky upper arms.
Vogue8379 001
Love, love, love this dress!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

Lányos Handmade

The Shop, The Blog and More!

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

sewing my own clothes