Vogue 9212

Vogue 9212

 

20161206_154535

 

20161206_154657

 

How fun is this coat?  I grabbed some home dec fabric off the sale table at Joanne and used some lining from my stash.

20161206_154804

Here it is turned inside out, you can see that the facing is another full front.

20161206_154809

Simple snaps for the closure (I made covered snaps).

This coat really is easy to make with no fancy details;  I really tried to overthink it though, adding shoulder pads which I removed, inserting sleeve heads which I removed.  I did leave a back stay, but that’s the only deviation from the pattern instructions.  There is that corner you have to turn at the collar, but that’s the only tricky bit.  I made a size 12 with a forward shoulder adjustment, a la Palmer Pletsch (my go-to resource is the book “Fit for Real People”).  This seems to help with my shoulder fitting issues.  It’s not perfect yet, but we’re getting there. 

 

This is an interesting coat, with the sort of cut away front.  It has a bit of a historical vibe like this one.  At least, that’s what I was thinking when I was sewing this up

Image result for 18th Century Coats

18 century coat

 

 

I recommend this pattern, it’s not too terribly hard.  I’ll have a picture with it on me at some point.  I love how the jacket is styled on the Vogue website: worn with leggings and boots.  Perfect!

  1. It is a lovely design. One of the last jackets I made was with a curtain fabric. I just love it to bits. Your fabric looks strong and elegant. Nice work!

  2. This is lovely. Home dec fabric is always a treasure trove!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

