Butterick 5826

IMG_5716

Butterick 5826

I’ve been on the hunt for a good “popover blouse”, a little more dressy than a tee shirt, but something I can wear with jeans.  J Crew has some pretty ones made from Liberty fabric; hey, I have a great piece of Liberty print that would look great made up in a blouse!

 

IMG_5704

This is the first iteration, made up in a beefy linen from my stash, a la wearable muslin.  Boy, do I like this shirt!  The only complicated part was the plaquet.   I always use David Coffin’s instructions from his shirt making book when making these.

IMG_5719

I’m always working to improve the fit of Big 4 patterns on me, specifically my upper bust/shoulder area.  For this shirt, I did a 1/4” forward shoulder adjustment, using size 10.  My usual size is 12, but this was a very loose-fitting pattern, so I went down a size.  I’ll need a few more tweaks for the next shirt, but the fit here is close to perfect!

IMG_5703

I drew a high-low shirt hem, instead of the straight across hem from the pattern.  I also turned back a wide hem on the sleeves, making them 3/4 length.

I’ve got another pattern that I’m wanting to test before I cut into my precious Liberty print.  It’s a Burda pattern, already traced and ready to be cut.  Stay tuned!

IMG_5713

And, simply because I haven’t shared it yet, I finished a pullover sweater this past November that I also love.  The pattern is called Rolling Rock by Thea Coleman; the yarn is Madelinetosh Pashmina.

Have a great weekend!!

  1. Lovely shirt! I really like the v neck and placket. I am sure the jumper will become a TNT as well!

  2. You’ve picked a lovely fabric there. I’m not much for flowers but this one is great! Love your yarn too. Pretty colour!

  3. Love your top! I have had the pattern cut for weeks while trying to decide on a fabric. Your post is so helpful 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

