HP1150

Hi everyone!  School has been in session for two weeks here, and I’m so ready for Fall temperatures.  But, it’s still upper 90’s and gawdawful humid!  I can’t bring myself to pull out the wool fabric yet, but some layering pieces would be a nice addition to my closet. Recently, I tried out this pattern, the Wong-Singh-Jones Maharajah Jacket.

IMG_5540

Hard to photograph white, I finally got a decent picture at night, indoors, no flash.

IMG_5529

Ok, so you can’t see the details here, but you can see proportions and fit.

IMG_5526

Description

This is a semi-fitted jacket that has princess panel seams with bust darts, vertical welt pockets and empire seam.  It finishes at the high hip and has two-piece, 3/4 length sleeves.  It has a shaped neckband, topstitching, and a wrap-front with loops and buttons.

Pattern Sizing

The sizing of the pattern runs 6-26, all in one envelope.  The 3/8 inch seam allowances are included in the pattern, so it’s fairly easy to trace the pieces

Easy instructions? 

Not really, but the pattern is classified as Intermediate.  In this case, you need to be comfortable with sewing curved seams,setting in sleeves, and accurate top-stitching.

Fabric Used

I used a crinkle cotton from my stash that I block-fused with Pro Tailor Deluxe from Fashion Sewing Supply.  Seriously, best products ever!!  I also lined it.  Optional lining pieces are included in the pattern.

IMG_5543

Pattern alterations

I made a whole heckofalot of alterations.  I’ve yet to figure out the whole HotPatterns fitting block.  According to my measurements, I’m somewhere between a 10 and 12.  Other reviews I had read said that the sleeves were on the small side, so just to be safe, I cut a size 12 from muslin. 

 

WP_20140805_001[1]

(let’s see if I can list them all…)

WP_20140805_002[1]

Can you figure them all out from the pictures here?  I shortened the armscye by pinching out a whole inch in the front, back, and sleeve cap.  Before that, I re-traced and re-cut the upper portion in a size 10, tapering to a 12 below the empire seam.  I also pinched out two inches in the upper back, tapering to nothing at the empire seam in the center back.  I shaved the sleeve caps an additional quarter-inch off the top, even after shortening them the first time (see above muslin pictures). 

If you want to make this one yourself, I highly recommend you make a muslin first.  I think the pattern instructions recommend it as well.  Also, you need to be comfortable with sewing those curved seams at the neck.  And, let’s just say that neither my curved seaming nor my topstitching are perfect:

IMG_5548

This is going to bother me, I just know it.  I’ll probably remove the topstitching at some point.  The rows aren’t too bad, and the curved seam is barely acceptable.  But, put them together, and…GAH!

IMG_5540

I like the welt pockets, easy to set in on the seam:

IMG_5537

Dressy, and cool with an edge!  This is definitely something different!

  1. Very cool! It looks kind of complicated to do though!

  2. Wow, this is just so gorgeous. I love it in white. That topstitching on the bands is a nice touch, and your alterations really tweaked the fit well. I hope you get a lot of wear out of it. Gorgeous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

