Vogue 1236

IMG_5485

IMG_5486

Back view.

I was trying to think of a catchy title for this post, to more aptly describe this dress.  “The camera adds 10 pounds, and so does this dress!” or just simply “Ho Hum”.

I blame the fabric.

IMG_5495

Back in 2011 when this pattern first came out, I bought this seersucker fabric specifically for this pattern.  Now, I’m thinking it looks too much like pajamas, definitely not like the  pattern picture.  I liked the idea of this fabric more than the actual result.  Hate it when that happens.

I’ll make this again,  it’s very easy.  The only fit alteration I made was to sew up the shoulder seams with an inch allowance (sewing up my usual size 12). 

IMG_5497

“ho hum”

To construct this dress, I decided to stick with the pattern directions, and used the neck facing pattern pieces.

IMG_5488

 

IMG_5491

I don’t usually use pattern facing pieces but for this dress, I felt it would help to stabilize the narrow shoulder straps, as well as finish the arm holes nicely.  If you notice, the the front shoulders are almost completely on the bias, pulled in by the neck pleating.

The back facing is nice and big, making a nice back stay.  Recognize what I did with the hanging edge?  I sewed the interfacing to the lining at the unfinished edge, turned then fused the pieces together.  I love that technique!

The other thing I did was sew up some strips of selvage at the pocket opening.

IMG_5489

As much as I love pockets in dresses, I’ll not add them on the next one.  There’s enough extra fabric at the hip area already.

IMG_5487

UGH!  This fabric!  I don’t think it’s quite my color.  Or, perhaps it has too much of an 80’s vibe (in my high school, pinstripes were all the rage, even the jeans had pinstripes, ugh, but I digress).  Maybe It would look much better made up in a nice shirt!

Here’s what it looks like unbelted.

IMG_5506

Paired with a cardigan, not too bad.  We’ll see if I change my mind on this after it sits for a while in my closet.

grumble grumble grumble……

  1. I like this dress belted best, and I love the seersucker. i don’t think it really looks as bad as you think, although maybe you may not like the colours much. But I’m biased in favour of seersucker. I’ve always liked this pattern. It looks like a great casual summer dress.

  2. I know you don’t like this dress, but does it just need a bit more colour? Red belt? It looks like a great hot weather dress. Perhaps a spell in the magic closet will help!

    • Thanks a bunch! It’s in the MC now, I’m hoping a stint there will change my mind 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

