Vogue 1247

IMG_5465

Vogue 1247

Would you believe there are 98 reviews for this pattern???  Now, a lot of them are for the accompanying skirt as well, but still….it’s popular!

Based on all of those reviews, I decided to go down two sizes and cut out the size 8.  I like my tops longer than what was pictured on the pattern, so I also added 1 1/2 inches to the hem.

I used this crazy silk scarf print from my stash; I didn’t have much, so I didn’t try too terribly hard to match patterns.

IMG_5478 

IMG_5466

 

Is this not fun? This top very comfortable.  Making up the smaller size resolved any concerns about the top revealing too much cleavage, but I think it could use another 2 inches in length. Here you can see that the back is two separate pieces, sewn together in the center (if I had more fabric, I would have done a better job of matching the up the print Smile).

IMG_5477

Seriously, this top is ROOMY!

I used some pre-packaged bias to finish the neck edge, and I turned up the sleeves twice to finish them.  The instructions called for a separate sleeve facing, but I didn’t finish my sleeves that way.

IMG_5467

 

IMG_5468

Here is the sleeve hem, just turned up twice and pressed.  I hand-tacked it in place.
A lot of the reviews mentioned that this top has an oversized hospital scrub vibe, and, yeah, I can see that. But, despite all that this pattern is still very popular.  Why?   Well, it sure is comfortable, especially in this 98 degree weather we’re having.  It’s a great designer pattern, and has no complicated snaps/buttons/zippers.  The trickiest step is getting the pieced points to meet center front.

IMG_5470

If the print of your fabric is busy enough, it won’t matter if the points match or not, LOL!

  1. I love the colours – very wild!

  2. Hah! Last night I was ironing one of mine and thinking, should I make another and here you are in this fab print pushing me over the edge! Nicely done!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

