Vogue 1143

IMG_5220

 

Well, it was going to happen soon.  I made a wadder.  This is an old OOP Guy Laroche pattern, so old it’s not on the Vogue website anymore:

aa6fa69124bf38b20599bc3020a75b03

 

IMG_5222

 

IMG_5219

I haven’t even removed the basting threads.

I’m not loving it.  At. All. I thought this pattern had just enough of a moto feel; I thought it would be a good idea to play with the mixed materials trend; plus, there’s even a peplum!  How could this not be cute?  Hmmmm….not feeling the love with this jacket.

I think the problem is the sleeves.  They’re a bit too big, and it makes the jacket look more like a coat, less like a cool top.  Maybe I’ll fix it later, but right now I’m real tired of working on this.

So, after that ringing endorsement, if you’re still thinking about making this up, here are a few things to consider:

There’s a gagillion pattern pieces, including lining

 

IMG_5224

Fussy underarm gussets (lining gussets too!)

IMG_5226

Fussy slash/pivot/turn shoulder collar seam.

The double peplum is an interesting touch.  I highly recommend lining the peplums, rather than using self fabric as instructed.  Less bulky.

The instructions also have you sewing the self belt to the waist of the garment, leaving it open enough to buckle at the front.  I prefer an unattached belt, so I didn’t stitch it down.

I’m thinking the sizing runs large, especially when compared to the way the garment hangs on the model.  At least through the upper shoulders.

Here’s one more back view, then we will take a deep cleansing breath and move on:

IMG_5218

I’ve been wanting to make this one for a long time, so at least THAT’s out of my system, and I can now focus on something else Smile

  1. This is really sharp!!!

  2. What a great design. I’m sorry you’re not happy with it. I often do the same thing: choose something, sew it up and I’m not happy with it, and then move on because, like you say, at least it’s out of my system and I can say I gave it a go.

  3. I know how you feel, I finished a jacket a couple of weeks ago, after ignoring it for a month or so.

    Maybe some time in the magic closet will help. I like it and I think (in the words of Tim Gunn) you could make it work. It is too cool not to finish, wear and love.

  4. I love that you tackled this pattern! The leather sleeve piece is really cool. It’s too bad that the fit and final outcome are not what you invisioned. I agree with Elle C; maybe you can revisit it and “make it work” as it is a really cool silhouette!

  1. November 21st, 2013
    Trackback from : A nice breather.. | SewEllen

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

