HP CN Great White Shirt

IMG_5162

Just in time, garment #4 is finished:  Hot Patterns Classix Nouveau Great White Shirt

IMG_5165

IMG_5210

It looks as though this one has been discontinued.  You can see the notes I’ve made all over the envelope for future reference.  Does anyone else do this?

IMG_5163

 

IMG_5166

On me:

IMG_5187

IMG_5193

I’ve been on a little sort of “quest” to find the perfect button-down pattern.  This one comes really close.  As far as button-down patterns go, this one is fairly standard.  It has long sleeves, bust darts, collar with stand, cut-on button band, and curved hem.  I sewed up a size 12 with no alterations, and I’ll need to go down to a 10 next time.  The pattern is well-drafted, and the collar comes together nicely.  Other reviewers have noted that there’s too much ease in the sleeve.  This makes it really tough to set the sleeve into the armscye without puckers and wrinkles.  I would agree with this, but if you’re used to working with Vogue Patterns, you know how to make this work.  Most times, I’ll shave a little “finger nail” shaped piece off the top of the sleeve cap.  For this one, I sewed two rows of gathering stitches, pulled up the threads, hand basted the sleeve in, and then sewed the seam permanently.  The only alteration I made was to cut down the French cuff and make a regular cuff with a “tab” hanging off the end:

IMG_5168

It sort of looks like a French cuff, but not reallySmile

I used a white cotton/Lycra blend from my stash.

I wouldn’t call this a “semi-fitted” shirt, as the pattern is described, unless you’re making the view with the bottom darts and center back shaped seam.  I think this is more of a boxy fit, which I like in a button-down.

I’ll definitely be making this one again, probably in white as well.  I seem to go through white shirts, can’t get enough of them! 

  1. Love this! The buttons are incredible, and you look tres tres chic, m’dear!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

