Finally, my new leggings!!

I’m so excited to finally have these made!  Why did I wait so long?  These were so easy to make!  The hardest thing for me to do was to find a pattern from my stash.  Oh sure, I could have gone out and bought McCall’s 6173.  I don’t have that one in my stash, and those pants look great on EVERYONE.  But, my goal was to use what I have on hand.

I really have to use what I have on hand.  I have so much stash, ya’ll just don’t know (well, maybe you do…).  I have so much stash, I’m coming out of my sewing room…

I have a problem…

anyway…

ba58149bbae640e063a7fd47bea4eaf2

from Pinterest, my inspiration leggings.  I love the mix of fabrics.  I would never wear a pair of all-leather pants, way too hot.

 

IMG_5151

 

IMG_5153

I think I’m rolling my eyes at the dog in this picture Smile

The pattern I used will take some of you back in time down memory lane.  Remember this book?

IMG_5148

I actually have this autographed by the author.  This book came with a set of patterns.  Would you call these “vintage” yet?  I hope not:

IMG_5149

The picture on the far right is a pattern for a pair of slim pull-on pants.  I took that pattern and made a muslin with the smallest size (it comes S,M, and L).  Surprise, surprise.  It fit so well, I just needed to add 2 1/2 inches to the length.

It’s a one-seam pant pattern (one piece), so I cut the pattern down the sides and added seam allowances to each piece.  I sewed the two pieces together and added the waistband according to the instructions, and done!

 

IMG_5160

IMG_5161 

The waistband is a simple rectangle that covers elastic, all cut to your measurements.  Very easy.  I used some sort of stretch leather from Gail K’s and some 4-way stretch knit, all from (yes!) stash.  No seam finishing required.

I really like the fit of these:

IMG_5156

I’ll never wear these in public like this, but you can see how great these fit, no alterations.  Here’s an unfortunate butt shot to show you that it’s not too tight:

IMG_5157

Plus, very comfortable.

It will have to get somewhat colder to wear these, the stretch leather is hot.

My Hot Patterns shirt is almost finished.  I just have to get the buttons sewed on.  Gotta love sewing on a deadline!

  1. OMG, I love these pants. Awesome!!!

  2. Fantastic!

  1. January 7th, 2015
    Trackback from : McCall’s 6991 | SewEllen

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

