McCall’s 5932

IMG_5142

A few years ago, my mom and I were down at Gail K’s in Atlanta and came across this luscious piece of cashmere.  It was crazy expensive, and I told her she had to buy it anyway.  It sat in her stash for a while and then this Summer, she de-stashed a bunch of fabrics to me, including this.  Who was I to argue???  I still think It’s beautiful, although less of a color for me than for her, but that’s a minor detail.  You can tell it’s a loose knit, very lacy and open, and really thin.  I thought it needed to be a very drapey cardigan, and I chose this pattern, view B:

M5932

This is my second entry into the Wardrobe Contest at Pattern Review.  This cozy cardi is just what I wanted.  This is a simple pattern, two fronts, a back and two sleeves.  You can choose the collar treatment. 

 

IMG_5143

The pattern called for very stable knits, but this knit was definitely not.  I had to use fusible bias tape on all the seams to keep it from “growing.”  I had to sew the seams first, then serge them to finish the insides.

Even with this fussy knit, I made this up in a day.  It’s very easy.  I made a medium and could have gone down a size.  Be careful with the styling and your fabric choice with this pattern.  It wouldn’t take much for this pattern to look a lot like a bathrobe.

IMG_5144

 

IMG_5146

This cashmere is like butta!    ‘Totally getting why it’s so expensive.  Yummy!

  1. Love your cardy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

