Burda Style 5-2010-111

IMG_5128

Garment #1 of my wardrobe was completed just this week.  I remember when this issue came out, this dress didn’t catch my attention.  I reeeeaaaallly hate tracing Burda patterns, but I do like the way they fit. 

IMG_5129

 

IMG_5134

 

 

IMG_5140

I used a lot of resources for help on this dress.

 

IMG_5131

Perfect pocket flaps are thanks to Pam’s great tutorial at Off The Cuff.  Thank you so much, Pam!!

 

IMG_5130

The center front plaquet turned out very nice, thanks help from David Coffin’s book  Shirtmaking  I couldn’t understand the instructions from the magazine.  At. All.

 

IMG_5132

The sleeve plaquet  is done in the continuous bias bound method.  The only place I’ve found instructions for this is in any Heirloom Sewing book by Martha Pullen.  I considered adding a separate plaquet piece using David Coffin’s method, but the denim was a bit bulky for that technique.  I  found that out when I did the center plaquet.

 

IMG_5135

A little added fun, a contrasting fabric for the collar stand.  I still need to clip threads and add another snap!

IMG_5137

With the same cotton, I lined the pockets, just for fun.

May_111_tech_drawing_large

The pattern is more of an A-line shaped dress, and I wanted mine to be straight.  I took the side seams in an inch on each side, tapering to the original seam line right at the under arm.  I also nipped in the waist at the side seams.  For the pockets and flaps, I drafted my own.  I didn’t want the pleated ones that the pattern showed.  The fabric is a heavy stretch denim from my stash.  I traced and cut a size 40, which is my usual size in Burda.  I could have gone with a smaller size, but I think the original pattern was meant to be made up in a light weight shirting fabric and be blousy and loose.  I curved the hem for more of a shirt look, but it’s not real noticeable in the pictures.  I used snaps because a) I didn’t want to do buttonholes and b) I didn’t have 9 matching buttons.  Those snaps are great!  I highly recommend The Snap Source for any snaps or tools; best product ever.

This is a very cute dress, I’m glad it’s finished!  Pics of me in it later!

  1. Love this! I love the look and idea of shirtdresses, and this one is lovely. The contrasting cotton is a great touch!

  2. Great dress! It will be a wardrobe staple for sure. Love the contrast fabric too.

  3. gorgeous gorgeous I want a dress like that. hmmmmmm gonnna have to add it to the list of makes I guess
    thanks for sharing

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

