Kwik Sew 2948

Hi everyone!!! Please pardon my long absence-just shy of 3 months, goodness.  I’ve no excuse, I’ve done no sewing, I’ve been in a serious slump.  Summer does that to me, I guess.  Don’t get me wrong, I had a great summer, (I just didn’t take any time for sewing) and I hope you all did too!  I’m ready for some Fall sewing and I eased myself back into the swing of things with a nice boyfriend cardi:

IMG_5110

Kwik Sew 2948

My mom gave me this ribbed sweater knit from her stash that just screamed man-cardi.  She also gave me this pattern, which I can’t find online, so I’m assuming it’s out of print.  I mentioned that I “eased” myself back into sewing, because this is an easy pattern.  There’s no fitting to it.  I sewed up a Medium size.  The sleeves are slightly too long, the fit is roomy and view A is nice and long.  This makes a great oversized cardi.

IMG_5109

I’m not sure of the fiber content.  It’s REAL scratchy, so I’m sure there’s a substantial amount of wool in it.  It’s also very warm, which is why I didn’t get any pics of me modeling it.  The knit is ribbed, loose and drapey.  I was worried about raveling, so I bound all the seams with bias silk.  Also, to stabilize the cut edges, I fused bias tape to all edges.  It was probably a bit of sewing overkill, but I like it.  I wasn’t planning on adding buttons to the center front , but I’m glad I did, I think it gives a more finished look.  This was my first time sewing a Kwik Sew pattern, and I’m pleased with the results.  I think I’ll get another! 

  I’ve been wanting one of these for a while now.  Paired with leggings or skinny jeans and boots, this is my typical winter uniform.  Comfortable and cozy!!

  1. You’re headed in the right direction with this warm cardi. I’ve heard we are expecting a super cold winter 🙂 Welcome back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

