McCall’s 6559

Quick, what do you think of when you hear the words “Spring Break?” 

GetAttachment

I think of the Beach (this is Hilton Head Island, first of March; phone camera shot, so quite fuzzy)

We’re going back again this year to Hilton Head, SC for a quick Spring Break trip, so a little beachy wear is needed:

IMG_4836

This is Mccall’s 6559.  It’s another Pattern Review Best Of 2012 pattern.  I had slipped into Gail K’s earlier this month and found this jersey and knew what it was meant to be.  This is a great pattern, it couldn’t be easier.  This view is probably the hardest because you do have to pay attention when cutting out the shapes.  Just make sure that your fabric layout (right side up or wrong side up?) is consistent, as well as the pattern layout.  I think I messed up on the upper piece, I placed the pattern wrong side down, when I had done all the other pieces right sides down.  Oh well!

IMG_4838

I like the racer-back.

For once, I actually read the pattern reviews for this pattern before sewing it up.  Based on my reading, I cut my regular size 12, but I cut the shoulder tops on the size 10 line, raising the neckline just a bit.  I also re-drew the front neckline, raising it up about an inch.

IMG_4840

I played with some of the stripes at the neckline and arm holes.  For the neck, I just cut a red strip and serged it to the neck opening.  For the arm holes, I took advantage of the way the jersey curled like crazy.  I sewed a strip to the inside while stretching it, and then flipped it to the outside, exposing the raw edge of the strip.  It’s hard to tell from this picture, but the raw edge curls under and the wrong side of the fabric shows.  It’s a fun little touch, and something we see all the time now in RTW.  My edges aren’t perfect, I definitely need more practice.  The only other place I got really “fussy” was at the bottom edge:

IMG_4839

I wanted those stripes to match on the bottom…despite the fact that I’m not going to finish the hem, MWaaaahhaaaa!

I can definitely see me making this one up at least 1 more time this Summer.  I understand now why it’s so popular, it’s just easy, and it’s a great pattern!

  1. Love the dress! Great stripe matching.

  2. I don’t know how I missed this post. I LOVE your dress!
    For some reason I thought you lived in Australia……….. until I read you vacation at Hilton Head 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

