Vogue 8847

IMG_4808

Hi Everyone!  I’ve been reading your blogs and feeling envious of your fabulous beach trips, just so ya know.  To placate myself, I partook in some retail therapy at Gorgeous Fabrics, not once, but twice.  I used a Christmas gift certificate and ordered one of the gorgeous groupings; I’ve been meaning to get pictures and show you because it is beautiful!!  But for now, here is a separate purchase, made up in Vogue 8847.  My photographer is unavailable at the moment, so no modeled shots yet.  But, it really fits just like it’s shown.  This dress couldn’t be easier, and there’s no fit to it.  It’s a simple blousy shirt dress with a self belt.   

IMG_4810

There is a front and back yoke with some hand stitching on the inside.  Also, there’s hand-stitching at the cuffs – all of this is meant to finish the seams on the inside.  Now this pattern isn’t specifically designed for knits, nor are the instructions written for knits.  I omitted several of the steps and did my own thing.  I didn’t finish the seams on the inside because I thought it might make things bulky; I set the sleeves in flat also.  Using a knit here meant that I spent a lot less time in construction, but I would definitely try this pattern with a beautiful charmeuse or crepe, just gorgeous, and so easy!

IMG_4813

side pockets

IMG_4811

Two collar options, and NO BUTTONS OR ZIPPERS, YEA!! If you do choose to use a knit as I did, I think I would recommend view A (just the collar stand), just to cut down on bulk.  Here, I ended up topstitching the collar to make it behave, and it turned out fine.  It just gets a little fussy when you can’t press out the points in a knit…just sayin’.

IMG_4814

Another cute detail is this hem (I’ll have to go back and fix that pucker…I didn’t even notice that til now!).  Here, I used steam-a-seam and then a double needle to sew the hem in place.

This is a great pattern!  I think I’m needing to go buy a nice piece of emerald green charmeuse or faille, or crepe and make this up again.

  1. Love your dress and it is so timely for me having JUST posted a chevron stripe dress a moment ago. I love your pairing of fabric and pattern.

    We’d be dangerous if we ever meet up in our dresses!

  2. Gorgeous dress! I love that you made it in a knit.

  3. This is beautiful. I love the style and print

  4. This is such a gorgeous fabric! I love your chevron print and it’s perfect for Vogue 8847 – it’s a dream pattern. Perfect pattern & fabric match!

  5. Thats such a great print/pattern combo! Very nicely done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

