Vogue 8259

IMG_4804

Have you ever had an “extended UFO” in your project pile? LOL!  I hope it’s not just me.  Let’s just say you can read about the beginnings of this project here and also here.  Yep, I started this like gangbusters wayyyyy back in 2008.  I pulled this out of a UFO box, and swore I’d finish it.  I had so little left to do on it; it was almost finished.  It just involved a whole lot of hand sewing.

IMG_4797

I remember now why I had stopped on it.  I couldn’t decide on what trim to use, and I couldn’t decide if I wanted to add the collar.  I tested a few trims, wasn’t happy with any of them, but settled on this fringe and cord combination:

IMG_4799

You can see that the fringe came from a piece of the original fabric selvage that I unraveled.  Then, I added that cording over it.  Unfortunately, the trim was too thick to add to the sleeves, or center front.  I just added the cording only to the collar and decided to be done:

IMG_4800

 

IMG_4798

 

IMG_4805

Feel free to “oooooh” and “ahhhhhh” at the perfectly matched hound’s-tooth pattern, LOL!  I also couldn’t decide on buttons.  I wanted gold sparkly ones, but nothing worked.  I went back again to Joanne’s and found these solid black ones with a shiny surface and texture.

 

IMG_4802

My intent was to make a Chanel-style jacket, so the lining is hand-quilted to the outer fabric.

IMG_4801

There’s also a chain at the bottom hem.  All of the finishing was by hand.  I did machine buttonholes.

IMG_4807

Even though I only had a “few things” to finish on this jacket, it took almost two weeks to get it done.  That’s how slow I am.  I’m just glad it’s done and in my closet!  If you’re thinking about tackling a sewing project like this, I highly recommend Couture Sewing Techniques by Claire Shaffer.  It is, hands down, my go-to book for all high-end sewing.  I had used my first edition copy so much that the binding cracked and split.  I now also own the second edition. 

Up next?  hmmm…I have Vogue 8847 and some cute jersey from Gorgeous Fabrics out to sew up next.  But, after wasting spending a few hours on Pinterest, I’m inspired to try my hand at a denim button-down.  What to do?

245094404692357862_PnRkyFQH_b     37365871880249775_8bBGuQxT_c     16114511137984029_kU66N35y_b

How did we ever dress ourselves before Pinterest???  HAHA!!

  1. Lol…I have several projects ‘marinating’…yours turned out beautifully! Some creations definitely improve with a bit of time… And yes, I oohed and ahhed over that houndstooth matching….and the trims…and the hand quilting! I love that book too…it was my first sewing library purchase and my most used reference.

  2. Wow. You hand-quilted the lining? Amazing amount of work! And I love your choice of trims. What a fabulous jacket!

    • Thank you so much!! Yes, hand quilted…I had to because machine quilting showed on the outside. I had to carefully make sure the black thread only came out on the black portion of the checks. This fabric was a lose-weave houndstooth wool, not a boucle (I wish!!).

    • Danielle
    • February 19th, 2014

    I am looking for Vogue V8259, does anyone have any for sale please?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

