Vogue 8825

IMG_4728

 

Back view

IMG_4729

This piece of slinky knit has been sitting in my stash for a LOOOOONNNNGGG time!  I think it was waiting all these years for the perfect pattern…Vogue 8825.  The strange colors (brown, chartreuse, coral) and busy print of this fabric had me scratching my head for a long time; but, I think, at long last, I have success.

IMG_4727   IMG_4724

Take note of those blousy long sleeves:

  IMG_4721

 

Also, take note of my skimpy belt.  I had-literally-scraps left over to make the belt; nowhere near enough to make a proper one per pattern instructions.  I think this dress definitely needs the nice wide long belt.  Oh well.  I cut and made my usual size 12 with no alterations.  Because of the fabric shortage, I did cut view B out but I shortened the hem by 3 inches.  The belt is supposed to be attached at the sides, but mine is separate and shorter.  This is such a great dress!  The instructions are good (it’s a Very Easy Vogue) and the fit is easy.  You could take off the sleeve length if you wanted, but I kind of like the look of them long as is.  I’ll be making this one up again for sure.

I think that’s about all of the sewing that will be completed for 2012.  Maybe I’ll do a Big Year-end Review post, I dunno.  I started knitting a cowl on Christmas Day while I was watching TV:

IMG_4730

This is big chunky yarn, extremely warm and colorful.  I hope to finish this by year-end.

  1. That is absolutely gorgeous! And with stash fabric- double the fabulousness!

  2. Looks great! I agree you wouldn’t want to shorten the sleeves, they are what makes this one really special.

  3. Love the colours on this fabric…the bishop sleeves ‘make’ this dress.

  4. It looks great, even with the “skimpy” belt! Love the colours of that print. Great dress!

    • BernieGee
    • January 20th, 2013

    So BEAUTIFUL! The fabric is gorgeous and this dress looks great on you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

