Vogue 8732

IMG_4659

Vogue 8732

At long last, this project is complete.  This had been languishing since June, as part of my CAbi Knockoff collection.

$(KGrHqF,!hMFCw59TVjGBQyMSBr0m!~~60_12

The CAbi Sandy Trench from the Spring 2012 collection

This is a Claire Shaeffer pattern, which means lots of beautiful couture details:

IMG_4662

Welt pockets with flaps

 

 

IMG_4668

Hand pad-stitched collar.  There’s no collar stand with this pattern, but the roll line is marked and you pad stitch smaller stitches under the roll line and bigger stitches above it.  The under collar was cut on the bias.

IMG_4663

A simple facing finishes the edges on the inside, and I bound the ends with bias.

After I had attached the facings back in June, I had set this down.  I picked it back up last week and I just wanted it finished.  Soooooo, I ditched the couture tailoring instructions and did my own thing.  This pattern is simple enough, though, that one could easily make this up without the hand tailoring.  Plus, it’s an oversized fit so fitting is fairly easy.

IMG_4660

You can see the safari-style back pleat plus two side back and two side front pleats to nip the waist.

 

IMG_4667

The pleats at the sleeve tops makes for easy sleeve-setting.

 

And, here it is on me:

IMG_4673

You can see it’s loose-fitting.  The directions include adding shoulder pads, but I left those out.  The loose fit calls for a skinny pant on the bottom, and I’m wearing some linen crop pants that have a narrow leg.  Clearly out of season right now, I know;  I took this picture VERY QUICKLY in 30 degrees outside.   I made my usual size 12 and this is a cotton stretch poplin from fabric.com.  I like the loose fit, and this will make a nice transitional jacket between cold and hot temps.  Whew!  I’m glad to get this one off my to do list!

  1. Gorgeous!

  2. Oh, I like this! I enjoy the couture techniques in Claire’s patterns, but sometimes honestly pick and choose which ones I’ll do just to speed up the project. Great jacket. I completely overlooked this pattern!

  3. Oh this is just wonderful! Gorgerous details on a classic style! Looks fabulous on you. I really like Claire Shaeffer’s patterns…but like Tia Dia, haven’t seen this one….I’m off to hunt it down!

  4. You did a great job on the jacket!

  5. I just found your blog today. You are the Vogue queen! I’m loving going through past posts! I also just gave you the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. 🙂 http://theprettypickle.blogspot.com/2012/12/very-inspiring-blogger-award.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

