Vogue 1205

Hi everybody!  It’s been, like, 2 months since I’ve done any sewing!  Lost the mojo there for a while.  But, the new Fall Vogues have gotten me inspired again, so I jumped back into some stash-busting with this Kay Unger beauty:

Sewing 214

Vogue 1205

I really love the Kay Unger patterns; I think I own every one of them, and this is the second dress I’ve made.  I think they’re so feminine and pretty, flattering for all body types.

The fabric used was a ponte knit from Joanne’s.  This is close-fitting and lined (I used knit tricot from stash).

Sewing 217

There’s a nice big back-neck facing.  There’s no facing on the front, but the dress is fully lined.  The only thing I did differently was to top-stitch around the neck and arm holes:

Sewing 215

The instructions have you understitch the neck edge, but I’m so awful at understitching, I rarely do it.  For such a simple dress, it really is elegant yet edgy.  Just a few gathered areas make construction easy, and the asymmetrical seams give it a bit of updated style.  There is an invisible zip in the center back.

Sewing 216

Here it is on me:

Sewing 221

Sewing 225

This dress is very form-fitting.  I cut a straight 12 and it fits fairly well.  The knit is pretty forgiving.  I love the bra-friendly not-too-low-cut style.

Sewing 223

Obviously, the outdoors reveal this fabric’s true color.  It really is more of a Barney purple than burgundy.  Like it shows, the fit is very close.  Proper shape wear would be a good idea, huh?  I’m so loving my animal print shoes (Max Studio, DSW).  They go with almost everything, from dresses to jeans, and they’re not too terribly high heeled.  I actually chose these over the Calvin Klein pumps for that reason.  

I did have a set plan for what to sew next, but now the new vogues are out, and there are two new Kay Unger patterns in that group.  Both are TDF, so now I’m not sure what to do!  I will be tackling that understitching problem now, though.  There are all kinds of tutorials available.  TTFN!

  1. It’s beautiful! Love that colour and the neckline is fabulous.

  2. What a great looking dress! Very versatile!

  3. Your dress is lovely! Good job.

    • Diane Fetters
    • October 29th, 2012

    Very nice. You have inspired me. This pattern is now a “must have”.

    • Amie
    • December 31st, 2012

    Gorgeous.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

