Summer’s Over

Well, for us anyway.  School started back last week, but the really hectic stuff won’t begin until after Labor Day.  I’ve been lazy and not posting, but I’ve used the time to get some projects finished.  The most recent finished thing was this behemoth:

IMG_4492

Pattern:  Apres Surf Hoodie from Interweave Knits-Summer 08 

Yarn:  Rowan Cash Cotton

I have to re-sew the front neck edging, it’s looking a bit strange, but that’s 5 minutes of work.  Whew!  I’m so glad to be done with this.  I don’t think I’ll be knitting lace again any time soon.

IMG_4493

IMG_4496

So cute and a great fit!

And, now, a wadder:

IMG_4484

This is Vogue 1091.  Has anyone ever made this?  Clearly, I chose the wrong fabric for this.  It was so bad, I did this:

IMG_4486

Not even belted, was this salvageable.  It only looked more like a nightgown.  So, I threw every bit of that hot mess out, and moved on.  Don’t base your decision on weather or not to make this pattern up on my example.  There are quite a number of great successful dresses made from this pattern listed over on Pattern Review.

  1. Wow- you couldn’t even make it a top? Mayeb a litel belted tunicy thing? I hate that- but boy is your sweater fabulous!

  2. Knitting ‘lace’ is not relaxing! very impressed with your perseverance…and lovely hoodie! As for the wadder, is there any way you can reuse the fabric? It’s so pretty. There’ a certain pleasure in cutting up a wadder and transforming it into something useful!!

  3. I have always wanted to make Vogue 1091 – probably because I love the colour of the dress on the pattern cover – but never have because I really think it would look like a tent on me, especially once required FBA was done. But I agree with everyone else – surely you could salvage the fabric for a top or tunic or something? And your knitting (about which I know zilch – zero – nada) always leaves me awestruck. Your hoodie is beautiful!

    • Amie
    • December 31st, 2012

    I am a little late here, but I did buy Vogue 1091, just last week on sale. I thought a soft knit would be good. I usually like dresses with more structure but the neckline caught my eye. And I agree with the previous comment, I love the green.
    thanks for sharing. The top is great.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

