Simplicity 3786

Happy Independence Day to all those celebrating it tthis week!  May your holiday be filled with barbeque, boating, and BOOM!    I’ve been sewing and knitting as much as the Summer allows, and I finally made a top that had been on my mind to make as soon as I saw the Spring 2010 CAbi line:

silkytunic2

Silky Tunic, CAbi Spring 2010

I saw someone wearing it the other day, and it’s still gorgeous to me.  I knew I had some Liberty fabric in my stash, and Simplicity 3786 would do nicely:

IMG_4453

This version has a mandarin collar, v neck with pintucks on either side, princess seaming in the front, and some ruching at the back waist:  And, no buttons!

IMG_4455

 

IMG_4454

The armholes are bound with white linen bias:

IMG_4456

This Liberty fabric has been sitting in my stash for more than 10 years.  I didn’t use it for so long because it was so expensive.  Why do I do that?

This pattern is several years old, but this version is super easy to sew up, so I highly recommend getting this one if you haven’t already.

IMG_4462

IMG_4460

I liked this top so much, I went and bought coordinating yarn for a cardigan so that this can be worn multiple seasons:

Have a great Summer!!

  1. What a beautiful top! I bought a silk fabric at Liberty and held onto it for 17 years before sewing it….. and I’m so glad I waited! Your top was worth the wait.

  2. It’s lovely! It’s perfect with your yellow trousers!I know what you mean about not wanting to use expensive fabrics. Why DO we do that?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

