Burda Style 6/2010/101

I jumped on the maxi dress trend:

IMG_4238

This fabric jumped into my cart the last time I was in Joanne’s.  It then proceeded to tell me that it would look great if I made it into a Maxi dress.  It was tricky, though.  The fabric is delicate, see-through, wrinkly, and very stretchy.  Oh yeah, it’s poly, so it won’t iron.  Laying it out was a bear, because it kept curling so much.  It’s almost like a mesh fabric and it  gets runs in it if you get near anything sharp.  My first choice of patterns was the Mission Maxi that everyone’s been making (it looks great on everyone, too).  But, I was afraid that this fabric was a tad too flimsy and transparent for such a straight columned style pattern.  I wanted a little  more fabric around the body.  This Burda Style pattern met all my needs:  bra strap friendly, a little extra pleating detail in the front, and an A-line dress.

IMG_4241

IMG_4240

IMG_4239

There are 18 pin tucks across the front of this.  You can’t even see them here, which is a good thing.  Poor workmanship on my part, they’re uneven, and rippled.  The front yoke is interfaced with Pro Shear Elegance, which is a totally awesome product!!

IMG_4242

There is a center back seam with two back darts.  I kept the back seam, but I eliminated the darts.  I finished the neck and armhole edges with pre-purchased bias tape, turned up a hem, and voila!  Done quickly, in time to wear it to a party last night.

IMG_4245

Stylish and Comfy!

IMG_4247

Worn with my favorite sandals of the season, by Zigi Soho from DSW (my favorite store ya’ll!)

  1. Your dress is fabulous. Beautiful!

  2. Stylish and comfy, indeed! What a great dress!

  3. That’s gorgeous! Great style and colours on you!

  4. It’s fabulous. I well understand how this fabric got in your cart. This is a great style for it too and you look gorgeous in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

