Vogue 1271–Kay Unger

IMG_4198

Vogue 1271

This was supposed to be my Easter dress, but of course, I finished it way too late.  I love all the Kay Unger Vogue Patterns!  This dress is full of great details:  interesting bust seaming, pleated bias sleeves, and the cute little belt with purchased buckle at the midriff.

IMG_4199

IMG_4202

 

IMG_4200

The poly satin puckered like nobody’s business, but I really loved the color and the print.  Unfortunately, the poly didn’t iron very well either.  The dress is fitted enough on me, though, to remove most of the puckers that are showing up on the dress form.  I think this dress has great opportunity for full or small bust adjustments.  There is a princess seam, plus two pleats at the neckline.  I adjusted the bust by adding 1/2 inch at the bottom seam where the bodice meets the midriff.  I For this dress, proper bust fitting is important so that there is no gaping.  If you do have gaping, you’ll have to tack the two top pieces together somehow (I couldn’t get that to look nice, so I increased the bust size a bit).  The sleeves are a really fun detail:

IMG_4201

They are cut on the bias, pleated, and have a shoulder dart.  The result is a very sculptural sleeve.  These stand away from my arms, but I think it’s more of a function of this poly satin.  The biggest problem with the poly is that these pleats don’t hold their shape.  I can’t think of a way to tack them down without it showing, so I’ll just leave them alone and let them droop.  If you make this, make sure you use a nice natural fabric that will hold the pleats once pressed.

This dress is fully lined and has an invisible zipper down the back:

IMG_4203

Oh, and look at this:

IMG_4204

Isn’t that cool?  I found this ODLR lining fabric at the last fabric.com warehouse sale.  That was eons ago, but I’m happy to now have use for it. Overall, this is a great dress.  My choice of fabric (poly satin from Joanns) made it difficult to eliminate puckering.  Use your best most luxurious silk for this pattern.  I need to find the perfect little buckle to fit the belt. Once I have that, I’ll put it on and take some more pictures!

  1. Lovely- I like the way you just hint at the color at the sleeve. It really pops.

  2. What a beautifully distinctive dress! Bet you get lots of comments, here and IRL 🙂

  3. it’s beautiful! I’ve been wanting to make this dress, too, but have been a bit put off by what I know will be an arduous fitting process through the bust, based on others’ reveiws of it. I love your fabric. What a great dress!

  4. That fabric is stunning, I hate polyester (wearing and sewing), but I would snap up that fabric in a heartbeat. The dress is gorgeous, I bet it looks fantastic on you.

    PS-is that fabric of a recent vintage or has it been aging in your stash? If it is recent, would you mind telling me where you got it?

    • Thanks so much! I know, I feel the same way about poly, but with this one, I couldn’t resist it. I think I got it two Springs ago at my local Joanne’s

  5. Beautiful dress! Love the sleeves, and their pop of colour.

    • margaretatlake
    • April 23rd, 2012

    This dress is so interesting and different. Would love to see you wearing it. I love it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

