Vogue 1268

Make a muslin.  That’s my warning to you, if you’re wanting to make this dress.  I’ll say it again, Make A Muslin.  Here’s my finished (finally) result from this:

IMG_4131

Vogue 1268

This was the original dress pattern:

V1268

I had written about the problems with this pattern here, and I’ll recap with a picture that points out all the problems:

sewing 202

Basically, the bodice is just too blousy.  I loved the idea of a lined wrap almost-coat dress.  The top needed so much alteration that you may as well use a different pattern.  The cuffs, and sleeves are crazy-big and the shoulders are really wide.  All the pleating in the back is just too much:

sewing 200

The top is just so blousy!  I altered it by taking out some length at the top, but it still wasn’t enough.  Like I said, make a muslin.  You’ll need to alter this pattern in ways other than just taking in a few seams, sorry to say.  On the other hand, I really liked the skirt as well as the fabric.  So, after many months sitting in my  to-do pile, I pulled this back out and re-worked the skirt:

IMG_4137

I ripped the top from the bottom.  I sewed petersham ribbon to the top of the skirt and sandwiched it between the lining.

IMG_4122

For the closure, I used covered snaps, hooks and eyes.

IMG_4134

Seam binding for the hem.  This crinkle faux suede does not press.

IMG_4135

All’s well that ends well, finally.  I do like the asymmetric wrap skirt.

IMG_4138

Personally, I won’t try this one again, but I would love to see what you all make and do with this pattern.  Just make a muslin Smile.

  1. Fabulous rescue! The skirt is truly unusual with the fabric texture and that great button. I love it! I’m glad you were able to get a great wearable piece out of a potential disaster.

    • Maria
    • February 10th, 2012

    I like your skirt more than the original dress. Wonder if I should buy the pattern and just make a skirt… 🙂

  2. Sorry the dress didn’t work out, but that’s a good save!

  3. It looks great as a skirt! Great save.

    • Merche
    • February 15th, 2012

    Hello, I´m new to your blog, and I´m so glad I found it! I just bought the pattern AND the fabric, but after reading your posts about this dress I think I´ll just make something else, as I´m awful at altering patterns. Thank you so much for the information and congratulations! The skirt looks fantastic.

    • Katie weary
    • September 24th, 2013

    I was thinking of buying this pattern. I love the dress but it sounds like a terribly frustrating pattern.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

