Happy New Year!

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a great holiday! I know I did.  We’ve been doing some minor remodeling on our home, nothing major, but even the small stuff can be inconvenient.  One major change we did make was to move my sewing room.  So, sewing is being done, but in small bits as I continue to try and arrange all my stuff in a new (smaller) sewing space.  I have two new dresses to share as soon as I get pictures taken, but in the meantime, remember my  chandelier project ?  Well, I’m finished!  For a cost of $93, I updated my dining room chandelier.

House 055

Dining room chandelier, it came with the house.

IMG_4053

IMG_4054

TADA!!  The new and improved version!!

Like I described before, I disconnected the chandelier from the ceiling, removed the crystals and taped over the candles.  Then, I spray-painted everything with Krylon satin black:

House 063

After hooking it back in place, I added back the crystals (after washing them, of course, because they were filthy!) but not all of them.  I don’t know how many, I just added some, then stood back and looked at it.  After that, I started looking for a suitable drum shade.  Little did I know how hard these would be to find.  Sure, the smaller ones are more readily available, but I needed one that would clear at least 24 inches in diameter.  I finally found a 28 inch shade on-line.  Also, it was a Retro-fit shade.  Who know these even existed?  There is no spider fitting in the middle of this shade, it’s completely open.  You attach it to the existing fixture with 3 adjustable cables that then hook to the chain.  It’s so easy, you don’t have to disconnect your fixture!  One disadvantage of this system, is that the hanging cables are visible.  It doesn’t bother me, but if you’re thinking of doing this yourself, it’s definitely something to consider.

001

  1. Wow, great idea, now so modern. I am partying right before you at met monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

