Vogue 1261

And now, something easy:

House 069

and,

sewing 211

Vogue 1261, Alice + Olivia

I made View B and C, with plans for view A very soon.  These are nice and easy, and so trendy!

I’m loving all the striped tops we’re seeing so much of lately:

Enzac – $400enzac4008724795_p1_1-0_254x500  Feel The Piece $107feelthepiece107

  Admittedly, I’m not as  pleased with my striped version as my solid version:

sewing 203

The fabric feels scratchy on the skin, and it was a real bear to work with.  The pattern calls for 2-way stretch knits, and this is more of a one-way stretch sponge-y sweater knit.

sewing 204

I had to hand baste the seams to get the stripes to match.  Pins would not hold this thick  knit.  I gave up trying to hem the bottom, and serged the edge, which made the edge nice and ripple-y  *sigh*.  Don’t get me wrong, this is a great top…when made in the right fabric.  And, I’ll wear this piece a few times, heck, I may even grow to like it!  I do recommend using the proper fabric, a nice two-way stretch with lots of drape.  With that lesson learned, I made view C:

sewing 205

Love it!  It falls fairly long in the back:

sewing 208

I made several changes to both views.  For the striped version, I didn’t add the cowl piece.  I serged the neck edge, turned it under and stitched.  For view C, I eliminated the center front and center back seams and lengthened the sleeves to full length.  I decreased the length of the neck binding by about an inch.  For both views, all seams were sewn to face the inside.  These are great tops to wear either alone or as layering pieces. 

Finally:

sewing 212

Don’t these shoes just scream “PARTY!” ??  Velvet and glitter…what’s not to love?

Poetic License from DSW

    • Chris
    • December 11th, 2011

    Personally, I like your striped top – you did a Great Job matching up the stripes on the sleeves.

      • Liette Lagacé
      • September 1st, 2012

      I agree!

  1. I know this is a blog about sewing and knitting, but I just have to say it: I. LOVE. YOUR. SHOES.

  2. I love both tops and those shoes are TDF!!!

    • margaretatlake
    • December 15th, 2011

    I like the striped top better than the solid one, too. You look very snazzy. The SHOES……I’ll have to think about that!

    • kristinekroken
    • December 16th, 2011

    Nice, and omg I love your brown boots, where are they from?

    • haha, if it’s shoes, it’s DSW. It’s the only way I can love shoes and still be able to afford food for the family!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

