Back to the Drawing Board…

Wow, no blogging for me in a while, huh?  I’ve been finishing up Vogue 1268.  I thought it would be a great party dress for the upcoming holiday season.  I’m envisioning this dress paired with a fierce pair of boots!   I won’t call this a fail yet, but it will definitely need some serious surgery.  I expected that.  I mean, look at the picture.

V1268

Let’s examine the issues with this pattern, shall we?

1.  Eighties-style dropped shoulders, crazy wide,

2.  Expected front neckline gaposis.

3.  Strange blousing in the back.

I expected all of these problems as soon as I saw this picture, and still, I wanted to make this!  I had bought this beautiful crinkle faux Suede from Joanne’s that really wanted to be made up in this pattern.  Here it is in all its glory:

sewing 200 GIDDEE-YAP!!

This picture was taken after the first of many alterations that I’ll be making.  I took a big  wedge from the front overlay, it was gaping so much!  Catch this sexy-back:

sewing 201

Holy smokies!  Crazy, huh?  But the funniest thing to me are these clownish  wide cuffs:

sewing 202

I don’t know why this pattern appeals to me, problems and all.  I’m keeping at it. I’ll try removing some of the blousy effect from the back.  We’ll see how it goes….

Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Chris
    • November 18th, 2011

    It’s an interesting pattern – I like the loose wrap style. Your version is looking good – maybe take a little off the back blousing?

  1. I really like your fabric. I think there’s a great dress in there trying to get out – maybe this one just runs large? I’ve got a strange liking for this pattern too so I really hope it works out!

  2. Great result. I’m so glad to hear you had the same fit issues as me- especially the front, I was beginning to think I was an odd shape. Love your fabric choice too. This dress suits you – lovely.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

