PB inspired Halloween Mantel

As you can see from my ever-increasing Blog roll, I’m becoming addicted to home design blogs.  Combine that with the fact that I have no sewing mojo right now, and the result is this non-sewing post.  Here’s my inspiration:

potterybarnpic

Look familiar?  This is a mantel-scape from this year’s Pottery Barn Catalogue.  I’ve never done an all-black mantel before, usually I have lots of oranges, yellows, you know, Fall colors.  Not this year:

blog post 002

Too fun!  I might add a few more things….

blog post 003

The inspiration came from the houses.  I had bought these at Target several years ago, but I never thought to put these on the mantel.  Those PB catalogues are a constant source of design ideas and inspiration for me.  Here are some daytime shots:

IMG_3932

The framed dual-image pictures crack me up!

IMG_3935

This season, most of the craft stores have those black-framed old-style portraits that change image.  And check out the LED-lighted twigs!  The Candelabra got decked out with black leaf garland and black roses.  I even added a hat element from the inspiration picture, an old witch’s hat from a previous costume.  The bats are wall clings, and the mice are black paper cut-outs, both from the Martha Stewart Home collection.  I might add some more little touches and fillers here and there, but I’m digging this!  It’s a definite deviation from my “normal” holiday decorating.  Have a great week!

    • ann
    • September 12th, 2011

    I love your use of black on your light colored mantel. Just gorgeous and stylish at the same time! I am going to spray paint an ivy garland black as well as some other elements I have on hand and go for it on my baker’s rack. Love what you’ve done!

  1. That looks great. Yes I’ve realized perhaps I have too much orange as well. I’m leaning more towards blacks and neutrals for this season…but darned if I know what to do with all that orange! Love your post.
    Blessings,
    Debbie

    • nightowl_72
    • September 19th, 2011

    WOW… that is the most amazing mantle/halloween decorating I’ve ever seen. I love it!

  2. That is amazing! I like the look so much…I have gotten some of those frames with the holograms in them…I have DONE anything with them yet…(story of my life). I “pinned” that picture from Pottery Barn too…so many good elements…just like YOURS has so many interesting items. Thanks for sharing your mantle!

    • Erin
    • September 19th, 2011

    I was wondering where you go the led lights? I need to get some!
    Thanks!

    • Thanks! All the “greenery” haha, was purchased at Michaels, including the led twigs (found in the silk flower section). Make sure you share a pic when you’re done!

  3. Great job, I like your mantle best. I got rid of all my orange years ago with a little acrylic paint in browns, black, and white.

    • Mel
    • September 19th, 2011

    Love this! You’ve done a fantastic job!

  1. September 19th, 2011

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

