BurdaStyle 4/2011-118

I thought this shirt was so cool when I saw it in my April Burda.  I also had some tie-dye interlock in my stash.

118A-042011-B_324x432-ID209793-d9c7bf95c0e0322f3e61fac2ecdc7929

Sad to say, but this is the first time I had traced a pattern from the “new-and-improved” pattern sheets.  GAGS and GAH!!!  Never again!  Good lord, surely I’m not the only one who can’t see well enough to trace a single line from those horrible pattern sheets?  This pattern only had 4 pattern pieces, but still…it was really difficult to see the lines to trace….sheesh…needless to say, I’m letting my subscription lapse.  Anyway….enough ranting. 

I (with difficulty) traced the pattern for both dress and shirt at once, so I cut out and made the dress version first (pattern #119):

119A-042011-B_324x432-ID209519-8cbd307a97ade337912074da71455718

My dress version:

sewing 187

on me (please excuse crappy night time shots):

sewing 190

sewing 192

I really like this!  It’s a very easy pattern to put together.  The upper and lower front and back are cut on the fold, sewn together, and the neck is simply folded under and stitched.  I like the big bunchy sleeves, and the seaming across the front.  I’m personally not a big fan of boat-necks, and this is definitely a boat-neck style, so keep that in mind.  The lower dress  is very slim-fitting.  No long strides are to be taken in this dress!  This is really a nice silhouette.  I could see this being made up in a drapey sweater knit, perfect for Winter.

I know I’ll get more wear out of this as a top, so I off comes the bottom:

sewing 195

I think maybe I’ll add a hem band around the bottom, to make it more like a sweat shirt.  This fabric is a very thick and cozy interlock knit from vogue fabrics.  This is a great pattern, if you can get past the cross-eyed, cuss-word tracing.  If you’re used to it and don’t mind, then you are blessed with more patience than I, LOL!

    • MaryMM
    • September 2nd, 2011

    Love it in this fabric. The dress would be wonderful in winter with boots.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

