August in the South

Truly the dog days of Summer…

House 048

Yeah, don’t keep your animals outdoors for very long, unless you have lots of shade:

House 008

But, there are SOME good things about Summer in the South…..

House 039

and, that is growing these little bits of heaven yourself.  There truly is nothing better than home grown tomatoes.  Here’s an easy salad I made today with some of my tomatoes:

House 049

This is a super easy salad made with the fake crab meat from Super Target.  The recipe is right on the back of the bag!  Add whatever you want to this great dish.  I added tomatoes, a bag of slaw mix, cilantro, avocado, and light ranch dressing.  Great stuff.

Okay, so there hasn’t been much sewing going on lately, but I am headed to Joanne’s this weekend to pick up my $4.00 Vogue Patterns.  In the meantime, I’ve been knitting, sort of:

House 043

Still working on this linen tank.

House 044 

I started this raglan pullover from some of my Madelinetosh yarn.

House 045

And, on the sewing front, I pulled out this flannel quilt to finally finish it.  All that I have left to do is the machine quilting and the binding.  Word to the wise:  do NOT EVER attempt to machine quilt a full bed-sized quilt with a standard home sewing machine!  Spend the 100+ dollars and get a professional machine quilter to do it for you.  It is one serious hassle to do this on a regular machine.  I’m literally wrestling with the yards and yards and heavy-ness of all this fabric.  Thank goodness I’m almost done.

House 042

Finally, I recovered my patio chairs with some Sunbrella fabric by Waverly.  I got a bunch of this with a half-off coupon at Joann’s.  I also have a few cushions to make with the rest of the fabric.  Perhaps I’ll get to them after I finish that quilt! 

    • margaretatlake
    • August 16th, 2011

    Love all your new pictures. Sweet little Daisy —

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

