Vogue 1245 and Liberty Love!

I have such a thing for Libery of London prints.  Naturally, when Fabric.com started stocking them, I immediately ordered a few extremely precious yards, at least 4 different designs, all horribly expensive, but I couldn’t help myself.  I still have several cuts of it from when I sewed beautiful frilly dresses for my kids when they were babies.  Now, I’m thrilled to get my mitts on a few prints for me!

sewing 174

 Vogue 1245 view A

sewing 176

Back view

Lovely in this Liberty print, no?  This is a wonderful alice + olivia designer pattern, albeit simplified, since I used a cotton.  The pattern recommends georgette, crepe, or chiffon with a lining.  Because I was using cotton, I did not need to make a lining.  I also did not make the two layer peplum.  I added  all of the other details as instructed.  

This has really nice details:  instructions for clean-finishing EVERY seam (!)  I know, I know.  If you’ve sewn anything before, you can kind of figure out how to clean finish seams if it’s not included in the instructions, but I just like it when they are; a separate sewn-on peplum (kind of a different detail); the finished waist casing that sits on the outside:

sewing 177

the drawstring at the neck is elastic with self ties on the ends.  The keyhole opening at the neck is finished with a small rolled hem:

sewing 178

You’ll notice that my neck facing is a different fabric from the shirt print.  I only had 1 1/2 yards of this and I managed to get the size medium made with it…barely.  I don’t think I had one inch of scraps left!  Great top!  I can’t wait to try view B.  If you make this, make sure your fabric has lots of drape.

 

And, finally, because of all this gushing about Liberty prints has got me feeling a bit nostalgic, I dug up an old (and one of my favorites) outfit I made ages ago for my daughter.  This is a Children’s Corner pattern, made with a Liberty print, trimmed with ric-rac, matching buttons, pants, the whole cutesy bit.

 Photo_634EB19C-D5CE-199B-F3FC-063F527028E2

I hope ya’ll had a great Holiday!!

  1. Your top is just beautiful. I love that print. And your child’s outfit is too cute!

  2. Oooooo! Susannah in a different colourway! I love Liberty prints, too. The tana lawn has got to be the coolest and most comfortable cotton for summer EVER! I love your Susannah top – it’s one of my favourite Liberty designs.

  3. I’m loving your liberty top! I have this same piece and hadn’t thought of using it this way…you’ve inspired me! And aren’t LOLs wonderful pieces to sew and wear.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

