Simplicity 2584

sewing 163

This dress is my attempt to play with a handkerchief print jersey I got from Fabric.com. 

sewing 164 

Simplicity 2584

I really like the simplicity of this pattern.  You can change up the details to make a totally different look.  For this dress, the neck opening is very simple.  The facing was lightly interfaced, stitched on, and turned to the inside.  The body hangs in a straight line from the shoulders, and the sleeve pattern is very straightforward.  I pieced the fabric a bunch to play with the print.  I’m still not sure that I like the result, but the fit is great!  I think this is the most comfortable item in my closet.

sewing 162

As you can see, there is no shaping whatsoever, so bear that in mind when choosing fabric for this.  Also, I have to wear a cami underneath, because the neck slit, when cut as directed, is way too low.  Had I just read the reviews over on PR, I would have known this before slicing my fabric.  I had plans to make this again using a white eyelet from my stash, but I changed my mind and am probably going to use a pink linen.  This time, I’ll use the decorative neck facing pattern. and maybe the ruffled sleeve detail.  I’m still pondering it. 

Happy July 4th, everyone!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

