Simplicity 2267

I almost got this finished for Easter, but it ended up being a great graduation dress.  This was DD’s last year in elementary school, so there was a big ceremony, and all the kids had to dress up,  This is the only decent picture I could get.  The sleeves are NOT wonky IRL, and there is no center seam, LOL!

sewing 146

Simplicity 2267

sewing 147

Fabric: poly satin from Joanne’s.  I love this print!

This is a very easy pattern to make.  There’s no fit to it, except for the sleeves and arms.  The front yoke piece is nicely shaped and has lots of potential for embellishment:

sewing 149

I just piped the edge in some white linen and let this cool print fabric do the rest of the work.  For the neck facings, I did it the old fashioned way by sewing the yoke to the facing at the neck then flipping it to the inside and hand-stitching it down to the yoke.  The directions have you serging it all together on the wrong side.  If this were a less “formal” dress, I would have done that, but I felt that this dress called for French seams and a hand-stitched facing.  That’s just me…

sewing 148

The neck closing at the back is a simple placket with a button/loop closure.  Wouldn’t a simple zipper be just as effective?  Especially if long hair covers it all.  This definitely gets lost in the busy print.

DD really likes it!  The poly print is washer/dryer friendly, which means, I like it!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

