Vogue 1228 Vena Cava

 

sewing 126

Vogue 1228

What can I say about this dress? 

Is it trendy?  Yes! 

Is it unusual?  Very. 

Is is easy to make?  Definitely

This is one of the first of the Vena Cava line to come out in a Vogue Pattern, and I really like it!  This is such an easy dress to put together, with the exception of the front neckline, which was a little fussy.  Just pay close attention to the directions at that point. 

Back view:

sewing 127

So, basically, this is a loose square-neck dress with kimono sleeves.  The big point of interest comes from the large horizontal pleat both in the front and back.  These two pleats create the draping detail at the sleeves.

sewing 140

sewing 136

sewing 138

I cut my usual size 12, and I eliminated the side zipper.  As you can see, It’s very low; low enough to need a demi-cup bra.  A regular bra results in “strap show-age”.  You can easily remedy this by taking up the shoulder seams.  Here’s another close-up of the back:

sewing 128

It looks like a yoke seam, but it’s really a big pleat across the back.

Tab-sleeve detail:

sewing 130

The sleeves are nice and billow-y, and held up with a tab.  The fabric is a rayon, purchased from Joanne’s.

sewing 139

At first, I wasn’t sure I liked this.  It’s really different, I’m not a fan of the square-neck, the sleeves are strange; but, the more I wear this, the more I really like it.  It’s comfortable, plus it hides all of my figure flaws, what’s not to like?  I’m eagerly awaiting the next Vena Cava pattern!

  1. Oooo…. I like your version! I’ve looked at this pattern and hemmed and hawed about it, but I think I’ll add it to my “to sew” list after seeing yours. Yours is a great summery dress!

  2. I just love this! I went in search of some similar fabric at Joanns but didn’t have any luck. I found something else though and can’t wait to cut it out. This is so great on you!

  3. Very pretty, thanks for sharing. i’m putting mine together now and just having a look at how others have done it..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

