Burda 7827

sewing 131

This one has actually been sitting on my dress form for a long time, waiting for buttonholes and buttons.  It’s finally done,and it”s finally warm enough to wear it!

sewing 132

This is a raglan sleeve shirt dress with princess seams in the front and inset welt pockets.  The instructions were well written, although I didn’t use all the pieces I cut out.  I made view A, which has belt loops and epaulettes, then I decided not to put them on.  I also didn’t add the sleeve cuff.  I shortened the sleeve to hit on a better position on my arm.

sewing 141

sewing 142

sewing 145

So, if you don’t know by now, I have a HUGE thing for shirtdresses.  I needed to get this one done and out of the way before I pulled out Vogue 1220.  Oh yes, that one’s next!

The fabric is a bottom weight stretch cotton from Hancock’s.  It’s almost too stiff for this, but I think with a few wearings and washings, it’ll soften up.  The directions were very good, but, again, I eliminated a lot of steps. I left off most of the topstitching, I didn’t add the belt loops or the epaulets.  I’m sure it’s just and old outdated idea, but I feel these things add “bulk”.  The topstitching was just making the fabric stiffer, so I didn’t do it.

sewing 134

sewing 135

 

sewing 145

This pattern has great details for honing your shirt making skills:  pockets, flaps, collar stand, collar, button band, buttons, etc.  I highly recommend this pattern.  Take the time to get through all the little details, and you’ll have a great classic piece that won’t go out of style.

  1. Love it! And your shoes are so totally on trend for the ‘safari’ look. I’m looking forward to your version of V1220 – it’s on my list for spring, too!

  2. This looks amazing!

  3. Very nice! I love the safari look and this dress is great- I love all the details. It looks wonderful on you!

  4. That\’s fantastic. I like way you present it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

