Sylvi Coat…DONE!

knitting 287

knitting 290

Pattern:  Sylvi by Mari Muinonen

Yarn:  Madelinetosh Bulky in Iris

Whew!  Finished, just in time for warm weather, ha!  I’ll probably get to wear it today before I put it away for the season, but I’m glad it’s done.  What is the striped effect on the front, you ask?  Well, this is hand-dyed yarn from different dye lots.  I alternated skeins to try and offset the different colors, but they were so different that the stripes happened.  It’s only a bad thing if you think it is.

knitting 292

This is a great pattern!  It’s got all this cabling down the back, raglan sleeves that are stitched with the seam allowances facing to the outside, and flowers that are knitted up as individual petals and appliqued on.

knitting 289 

knitting 297

Pretty, pretty, pretty!

Okay, so who went to the Sewing Expo?  I’ve been going for at least 12 years now.  I can’t miss it, but I think this year goes down as shortest time ever spent there, LOL.  I had only about 2 hours to spend on Thursday, so I went to my main haunt, the Vogue Fabrics booth:

knitting 286

It was definitely a KNIT day (the pink solid is a beautiful doubleknit, woohoo)!!  I love that green tie dye knit, gotta do something with that!  

Happy Wednesday!

  1. Two of my friends made this coat. It is beautiful. Great color choice.

  2. Wow! This coat is spectacular. You are one talented knitter!

    • Dagmar O’Hanlon
    • April 2nd, 2011

    Hi Ellen,

    I just visited your blog for the first time and I am amazed at how productive you are!
    The Sylvi coat is stunning and I would like to try it myself. I went to the Madelinetosh site to look for the yarn and I do not see anything called bulky. Can you double check the name of the yarn you used – or perhaps it is out of circulation? Love the colour and variation from the dif. dye lots.
    BTW – how long did it take you knit up? How many hours per day do you spend sewing/knitting?

    thanks Dagmar

    • Hi Dagmar, Thanks so much! I did get to wear my coat for a few days before it warmed up. I’ve heard that the MadTosh Bulky is being discontinued :(. I got mine at http://www.imagiknit.com and it looks like there’s still some Bulky left. It took me about 3 months to make this up. I don’t knit ’round the clock, maybe 3-4 hours per week. That’s the beauty of bulky yarn! good luck! enjoy!

        • Dagmar O’Hanlon
        • April 3rd, 2011

        Holy smokes – you’re a fast knitter! On 3 -4 hours a week, it would take me forever, but I guess with the quantity you knit, it is understandable that you are so fast. The Iris colour on the Madtosh website looks way more purple and less gorgeously blue than yours does. would you say your iris turned out blue or purple? Also are the flowers a different colour or just dif. dye lot?

        Thanks, Dagmar

    • Yes, the flowers are a different dye lot. I think the color is more of a navy with purple undertones. The different dye lot was definately more purple. If you’re wanting more of a blue color, I’d go with Fathom, Blumsbury, or Baltic, all gorgeous colors; but then again, I’m a Madtosh groupie!

        • Dagmar O’Hanlon
        • April 3rd, 2011

        Thanks for your help. I have never seen Madtosh yarn in my area (suburb of Toronto), but I looked online and found there are a couple of stores within 50 miles/100 kms of me that carry those yarns – I will go and check out the actual shades which seem to be consistent through the yarns types at those stores before making my order. I was also thinking of Baltic, Kelp or Duchess as these area available in the required amounts! These yarns are just amazing in their depth and variation – so much better than the Briggs & Little that is suggested.

  3. I found my way over via sewing pattern review–what a fantastic blog! Then I saw your Sylvi–I SWEAR, it looks exactly like mine (which I made in Malabrigo Chunky purple mystery)! I love your sewing and knitting projects!
    Gwendolen Gross (author of The Orphan Spoon–coming July 5!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

