Vogue 1224

sewing 118

 Vogue 1224

sewing 120

Back view

Pattern Description: One piece dress with short dolman sleeves, a drawstring neck, lined skirt, and elasticized waist with a casing.

Pattern Sizing:  Regular pattern sizing, I made up my usual size 12.

Likes/dislikes:  I love this dress!  I’m always a big fan of the designers patterns.  According to the picture on the envelope, the skirt was going to be real short.  Usually, though, if it’s short in the picture on a 6 foot model, it hits me about right.  If I were 20 years younger, maybe; but, as it is, I need to lower it by about 3 inches.  It’s a tad bit short for my tastes:

sewing 124

Fabric Used:  ITY border print jersey from Fabric.com.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I cut about 6 inches off the elastic at the neckline.  The neckline has elastic in the casing with fabric ties on each end:

sewing 119

  I also used self lining for the skirt:  I sewed the skirt and lining together at the hem and turned the lining to the inside.  Then, I added the casing to the waist according to the instructions.  I also used 1/4” elastic instead of the 3/8 “ that was called for.

sewing 121

I will most definitely be sewing this again, in a fabric more my color, and adding just a tad bit of length to the skirt.  This is a great Spring/Summer piece. 

sewing 116

I wanted to wear it this past weekend, but it was too cold to wear as a dress.  It turned out to be a great tunic!

  1. That is cute! I love it in the border print fabric.

  2. Girl Girl Girl u ain’t never lying about your knitting it does kick azz. I love love that dress how long did it take you to do that and did you use a pattern? I love all your items

  3. Just wanted to let you know that we like your version of V1224 so much that we posted a link from our Vogue Patterns Facebook page. Great job!

  4. Beautiful, I love your fabric, and you;re right the pattern is short , I just made this pattern too. Very nice

  1. April 1st, 2015
    Trackback from : Vogue 8534 | SewEllen

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

