Simplicity 2294

sewing 059

sewing 060

I’m not calling this one a pattern fail, the pattern was quite good.  There’s just something I don’t like about the finished jacket, though.  Fortunately, it’s for my ‘tweener DD, and she says she likes it…we’ll see….

It all started when she was going through my zipper stash and found a couple of “blingy” zippers.  I thought the sparkle zippers would go well with denim, as well as some hot-fix crystals.  So, I blinged it up with the zipper, and added crystals to the pocket edge, none of that shows up in the photos.  Oh yeah, I also thought I was being extra clever and GREEN by recycling several old pairs of jeans that I’d been keeping for just this purpose.

sewing 062

So, you could say that this jacket was built around the zipper, LOL  Anyway, MEH, ho hum….

Simplicity 2294, a Hannah Montana wardrobe pattern for pants, vest, dress, and jacket.  I made up the size 14 for her.  This is an easy pattern with a lot of cute girly details.  If you look at my back view, you’d think that the back has princess seams, but it doesn’t .  The back pattern is cut on on the fold and has two darts.  I added princess seams in order to piece together the denim from the recycled jeans.  You’ll notice in the above picture the placement of inseam pockets.  This is much better looking than what the directions tell you to do; and, that is to abut patch pockets right next to that front seam.  Other details include a front facing,

sewing 061

gun flaps:

sewing 063

The pattern also has side tabs, but I left those off.  You might think this pattern is very boxy, but has nice shaping with back darts and front princess seams.  In order to fit my daughter, I let out the back darts and side seams.  I really do like this pattern for her,  I think it would look ultra cool in pleather or corduroy.  I’m wanting to make the dress for her also.  Hopefully, it’ll turn out nicer than (it’s okay, you can say it) this hot mess. 

But, hey, aren’t you all proud of me for recycling? LOL.  Speaking of which, here’s another recycling project I did over the holidays.  I had been cleaning out my closets and drawers, getting rid of clothes that I don’t wear anymore.  This sweater never fit right:

036I turned it into this: 

knitting 280

Take note, if you ever want to do this, it’s a tedious all-day project, one I don’t want to do again.  It’s Thursday here in Georgia, and we’ve been out of school for 4 days.  I haven’t gotten near enough sewing done, so off I go now, and hopefully, I’ll have better success.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

