Vogue 1020

knitting 239

Pattern:  Vogue 1020

Fabric/Notions: heavy wool jersey and sew-through elastic

knitting 240

Back view

Whip this one up in an afternoon.  This is an easy skirt to make; I wanted to try out the cardigan, but just didn’t have enough of this wonderful knit for it, so it became a skirt.

On me:

sewing 047

sewing 046

This is basically a yoked skirt with 2 panels sewn together in the back and overlapping in the front.  The instructions have you finishing the hem of the skirt panels prior to attaching them to the yoke (love that!).  The waistband is simple elastic sewn on.   Just serge the edge of the elastic to the top edge of the waist (stretching to fit) and flip it over.  With this method, you don’t have to fool with making a casing, slipping the elastic through the casing, etc.  It eliminates bulk at the waist. 

knitting 241

The only thing I did outside of pattern directions was to interface the yoke with some lightweight fusible tricot interfacing.  When the skirt was done and I tried it on, I found that it was too long for my tastes.  Since the hem was finished, I removed one inch from the top at the waistband (yes, I had to rip out the serged elastic).  After that adjustment, it was a perfect fit.  This skirt sits below the waist, about 3 inches on me.  This has been a very popular pattern!  I wished I had pulled it out and used it sooner!

  1. I love this skirt on you. Looks very comfy, yet really stylish. It looks so short on the pattern cover, that it’s interesting that you had to shorten it. You definitely have hit the perfect length.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

