Vogue 8546

There’s another  contest over on Pattern Review, and I thought “what the hey”..I’ll enter it.  I used a “wardrobe” pattern and completed 3 different garments from one pattern.  I would have made more, but ran out of fabric.  These are all from Vogue 8546,   This time, I made 3 things:  dress, skirt, and top

sewing 051

sewing 055

These are some great basics; if I had enough fabric, I would have made the pants.  I love this fabric!  It’s some sort of stretch woven, almost like a double-knit, from Gorgeous fabrics.  It’s fabulous, just the right thickness for the skirt, pants, and dress.  On to the particulars:

Pattern Description:  Vogue 5 Easy Pieces, comes with patterns for dress, jacket, top, skirt, and pants.  The dress is sleeveless and has princess seams and a flared skirt.  The neck on both the top and dress has a faced neckline with a keyhole shape in the front.  You can see the close-up underneath here:

sewing 052

To cut down on bulk, I didn’t finish the edges on the facing.  The keyhole neck turned out nice, surprisingly! 

Were the instructions easy to follow?  yes, as the pattern indicates, 5 EASY pieces.  The only time I looked at the instructions was to make sure I was doing the key-hole opening right.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I had originally gotten this pattern for the jacket only.  I love my jacket and still wear it often.  Remember this?

Vogue 8546 001

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  The pattern pieces for the top and dress are the same ones, and while a center back seam is OKAY for the dress, I didn’t want one for the top, so I eliminated the center back seam on the top:

sewing 054

I also did away with the keyhole finish and lowered the neckline one inch.  I eliminated the neck facing altogether on the top.

sewing 055

I used silk jersey for the top, not the best choice for this pattern.  This pattern is best suited for thicker knits such as double-knit or wool jersey, maybe even a very lightweight fleece.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I don’t think I’ll use this one again for a while, but it’s definitely easy and I’d highly recommend it.  The dress is a great layering piece, and the skirt is a fun little swingy number.  The yoke has front and back darts with a circle skirt attached, and it sits right at the natural waist.

Here are some other shots:

sewing 050

sewing 039

sewing 041

Skirt worn with a turtleneck.  I like the hem-length of the top, and the 3/4 length sleeves.

sewing 049

sewing 056

Conclusion: Great pattern, easy to make.  If I find another fabulous sweater knit, I’ll haul this pattern out again and make that jacket.

    • Ann
    • November 16th, 2010

    These are beautiful coordinates. The colors are very classy and the draping is beautiful. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern!

  1. January 2nd, 2011
    Trackback from : 2010 in review « SewEllen

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

