Hotpatterns 1090

sewing 023

The Classix Nouveau Uptown/Downtown Knit Dress

sewing 024

This is the final bit of yardage from a huge piece of sweater knit purchased from Fabric.com many years ago.  I didn’t have enough to make a skirt band.  I cut a size 12 according to my measurements.  It’s a little too roomy for my tastes, but still wearable.  There are 3 length options for the top:  longer if you want it more blousy, shorter if you want it less blousy.  I recommend pinning your top to skirt pieces before sewing to test  your length.  The shortest  waist length on me was still too long by at least an inch.  I’ll definitely make this again, this time I’ll either shorten the top, or tape the top and skirt pattern pieces together somehow and cut fronts and backs out as one piece.  I’ll probably go down a size as well.  This is a super easy and quick dress to make up, especially on a serger.  Here it is on me.  Sorry for the “mirror shots”, no one was around to take my picture.  I’m not sure about the black boots with this dress.  This is a strange colored knit.  Perhaps some colorful tights would do the trick.

knitting 222 - Copy

sewing 031

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

