Vogue 8581

sewing 021

sewing 022

I’ve had this extremely thin almost-like-tissue jersey in my stash for some time, trying to decide what to make with it.  It was a toss up between either this pattern or one of the Hot Patterns 3 graces tees.

This is a simple pattern to make up.  The pattern has 3 views, all variations on sleeve treatments.  It also has raglan sleeves (my favorite, of course), gathered neckline, and elasticized hem.  I made up my usual size 12.  I bound the neck and sleeve edges and instead of the elastic hem, I just turned up 1 1/2 inches on the bottom and stitched.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted the elastic hem treatment or not (I kind of like the loose belted look, don’t you?). 

So, this top gives you a lot of options for different looks: belted, or tucked, short gathered sleeves or loose 3/4 length sleeves.  If you didn’t want such a big neck opening, simply pull up the gathering around the neck a bit more.  I receive lots of compliments when I wear this out:

sewing 025

sewing 027

How ‘bout those big billowy puffy sleeves?  As you can tell, use a thin fabric or one with lots of drape.

This pattern is a winner, IMO.  Don’t be afraid of the artists drawings on the envelope, this looks good IRL as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

