Self Stitched September

I made the pledge:

 ‘I, Sewellen, sign up as a participant of Self-Stitched-September. I endeavor to wear 1 handmade/re-fashioned or altered to actually fit me item of clothing or accessories every day for the duration of September 2010’.

You can read all about it over at So Zo and at the Flickr Group.  There are 100 plus participants, each with great inspiring pictures of their stitched or refashioned clothing.  We’re 4 days into September, so far, so good.  To that end, I did something I’ve wanted to do for a while, and that was to up-cycle some of my large athletic T-shirts hanging out in my drawer.  Here are a few of them:

selfstitchedseptember 001

These are just a few, various old gi-normous and unflattering tee shirts with the big drop shoulders and no side shaping.  I only wear them for working out.  Why not make them more stylish?  I used my TNT shirt pattern, Jalie 2566.  I cut the sleeves off and cut out the fronts and backs.  For this batch of shirts, I kept the bottom, sleeve and neck hems intact.  When you do it this way, it takes 5 minutes to sew up the shoulder, then sleeve, then side seams, and you’re done!

selfstitchedseptember 002

Okay, for the Old Navy shirt, I removed the neck binding, cut a new neck, and sewed the binding back on (so the 5 minute project turned into 15 minutes).  This makes for a much more flattering and feminine shirt.  I’ve got a few more cut out and ready to be sewn in one big batch.  I think for the next group, I’ll play with some different neck shaping.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

