Simplicity 2406

knitting 207

Simplicity 2406-Cynthia Rowley

Well, here is a great transitional dress!  It’s 100% cotton sateen that’s been sitting in my stash for who-knows how long (thus the dramatic creases in the front; I just hope they come out after washing).  View B of this pattern has been made up a lot (it has the little cut out sleeves).

knitting 208

This really is a simple dress.  It has raglan sleeves, gathered neck, and not much else-as in no further shaping.  The center back seam is supposed to be open, like a big keyhole, but I sewed that closed.  You could easily eliminate the center back seam altogether.  I meant to do that and forgot when I was cutting out the center backs :(.  The sleeve cuffs are simple casings with elastic. 

The pattern instructions were surprisingly bad, especially given that this is such a simple design.  The instruction steps hop around (“continue with another view for steps 9 through 12…”).  Also, the instructions for the inseam pockets were strange.  I used my old tried-n-true method I learned from Sandra Betzina for in-seam pockets. 

Despite the bad instructions, this is an easy dress, a simple design, with clean lines.  Use fabrics with a lot of drape to keep the garment from looking like a sack.

sewing 019

sewing 018            sewing 017

Have a great week!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

