Vogue 1159

Wow, it’s been a while, huh?  Summertime has been tough on the ole’ mojo, but this is one thing I have completed:

sewing 002

Vogue 1159

Seriously, how does one get from these 3 oddly shaped pattern pieces:

sewing 007

(you tape #1, #1A, #1B together before cutting)

to this completed dress?

sewing 003

It is a draping, pleating, and folding extravaganza, all the fabulous-ness of Donna Karan.  I seriously had NO CLUE what I was sewing until the final seam was put together.  I had to trust the instructions and pictures, which were decent.

sewing 004

I love this print, bought at Gail K’s.  It’s great for hiding construction flaws.  My seam finishing was not great for this dress, because, like I said, I had no clue what I was sewing.  I was certain I would have to rip everything out after it was all said and done.  There’s no trying on as you sew with this pattern, SHEESH! 

So.  Sewing this pattern is certainly not straightforward.  It is low cut and falls open even lower when you slouch, if you know what I mean.  Also, the armholes were very low.  I sewed another 3 inches up past the end point under each armhole:

sewing 006

Those that have sewed this wear camis underneath.  I think you could get away without wearing one, but you’d have to use some strategically placed tape.  For all the “craziness” I had with the construction, I really love it!  I think this silhouette is flattering for many body types, and all the draping is so now.  I might even make this again!

  1. I have loved this pattern from afar, but now I think I really will need to try it someday. Sometimes I get stuck from what I see on the pattern envelope and I would have never thought to do this in a print, but I love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Creator of "DESIGNIN' DECEMBER!" Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

