Burda Fashion 05-2009-114

bwof 036

I’m attending a Western themed party in June.  Is this “Western” enough for ya?  The pattern is BurdaMagazine 05-2009-114.  This is super cute and super easy.  This dress has raglan sleeves with elastic in the sleeve hems and neck openings.

bwof 037

This bias-cut straight skirt has two back darts.  I made several changes to this pattern.  First, I eliminated the zipper.  Other reviewers did so and had no problems pulling this dress over the head.  I cut the top back on the fold and the back skirt was cut as one piece on the bias.  Don’t try to cut bias-cut pieces on the fold, especially if you’re trying to match plaids.  Next, I replaced the waist drawstring with elastic.  I just made the casing from the seam allowance and inserted 1/4” elastic measured to whatever was comfortable.  To make the casing, construct the top (front and back), and then make the skirt (sew front to back) and then sew the top to the bottom.  This way, the seam allowance will be continuous all the way across.

bwof 040

This is the elastic inserted into self-casing from the inside.

I made 2” wide bias and added it to the neck edge and then inserted 1/4” elastic inside:

bwof 039

The fabric is some sort of linen homespun from my stash, I think it’s from Fabric.com.  I’ve had this for years!  This is so cute!  And, so simple to make; a great addition to your Summer wardrobe!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

Enjoying a RTW FAST since 2015! Addicted to sewing since the 70's! In a few words, I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

