BurdaFashion 04-2009-101A

For me, the April 2009 issue wins the “Most Made Garments”.  I have made FIVE garments from this issue and traced off one other.  That’s saying something for me, since I absolutely HATE tracing these dang patterns!  Out of my limited BWOF collection, this issue is my favorite.  Here’s my latest FO: 

bwof 028

I had leftover denim from my jeans.  I love this skirt!!

bwof 030

Back

This is a 6 panel A-line skirt with patch pockets, front yoke and a faced waist.  I started following the directions, but then sort of did my own thing after completing the yoke.  This skirt is not complicated, but it does require some thinking and planning.  Take a look at the inside front:

bwof 032

You can see that the yoke pieces are faced and finished first, so that when you get ready to add the side front pieces to the center, you have to add the facings to each individual side front piece first and then sew up the seam.  The ideal thing to do, of course, would be to sew all facings together and then attach to the top of the skirt so that the only visible seam would be at the waist.  Obviously, I couldn’t think that through.  I did do a proper seam at the back and one side:

 bwof 033

Above, you can see (from left to right) a side front piece, side back piece and center back piece.  Like I said, it takes a bit of planning.

bwof 035

 

A simple side seam zipper and you’re all set.  You can add the pockets, or not.  I added topstitching and jeans buttons.  The yoke area is strictly for decoration, so I didn’t make buttonholes. 

 

bwof 031

 

bwof 029

cute! cute! cute!

    • Shannon
    • April 20th, 2010

    So, I`m thinkin, “Boy, that is one cute skirt.“ Then I saw Snoopy and it was love…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!

In a few words, I am addicted to sewing! I want to try everything, learn everything and talk about it with you!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

RPT's Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

